Becoming an HCTC (Therapeutic Foster Care) Provider
If you are considering becoming a foster care provider for Intermountain Centers, you need to know:
Basic Licensing Requirements for Regular Foster Provider Homes (HRSS)
- You must be 21 years of age or older and legal resident(s) of Arizona.
- You and all persons living in your home for 21 days a year or more that are 18 years of age or older must have a fingerprint card and pass a criminal history background check.
- You must attend 30 hours of PS-MAPP (Partnering for Safety and Permanence – Model Approach to Partnerships in Parenting) training classes, at no cost.
- Your home must pass an Office of Licensing, Certification and Regulation fire and safety inspection.
- You must provide names, addresses and phone numbers of five references.
- You must provide a Physician’s Statement for any household member 18 years of age or older that resides in the home 21 days or more during the year.
- You must complete all required paperwork prior to licensing.
- You must work cooperatively with the licensing agency. The agency must agree to and support licensing the family for the type of license requested.
- You must provide current copies of your driver’s license, auto insurance and registration, proof of income, dog’s rabies vaccination and any prior marriage divorce decrees or legal separation papers.
- You must understand that licensing does not guarantee a child being placed in the home.
- You must agree to follow all requirements in Article 58 of the Arizona Revised Statutes.
- You must have appropriate space and accommodations for any foster child.
- You must provide information about prior work experience with children, motivation for requesting licensure and any previous experience as a licensed foster parent in any state.
- You must demonstrate skills working within a team, patience, compassion for youth, ability to work with biological parents and ability to make sound judgments regarding the care and nurturing of youth.
Additional Requirements for HCTC (Therapeutic Foster Care) Provider Homes
- As a parent candidate, you must have one year of verifiable work experience with Special Needs children and/or a Bachelor’s degree in one of the Social Sciences.
- Where a couple is applying, it is preferred that one of the two of you is not working out of the home at all times, available to the child throughout each day.
- You must assure each child coming in to your home of his/her own bedroom.
- You must have the ability to partner with Intermountain Centers and espouse the agency’s philosophy of providing a caring, teaching environment for any youth in their care, rather than solely a custodial environment.
- Your home must be free of weapons and alcohol.
- You must agree to and comply with a contract to provide HCTC Services as an Independent Contractor with Intermountain Centers.
- Each parent is required to complete the following additional trainings:
a) Arizona Professional Foster Parenting Classes
– 18 hours
b) CPR/First Aid – 4 hours
c) CPI (Crisis Prevention Institute) Training – 8 to 12 hours
d) Behavioral Health Documentation and Incident Report Writing – 2 hours
e) Medication Handling – 2.5 hours
f) Behavioral Concepts – 3 hours
g) Practicum – 12 hours
For more information, please contact:
Jack Smith, Foster Care Recruiter in Pima County
Phone: (520) 721-1887 ext. 5283
Fax: (520) 407-5398
Cristina Greenberg, in Southeastern Arizona
Phone: (520) 301-0646
Chris Hileman, in Northern Arizona
Phone: (520) 262-9483